Share

Share link

https://www.msconsultants.com/ms-qa-laura-lesher/

ms Q+A: Laura Lesher

Maggie Kearns

November 18, 2019

Laura in 100 Words or Less

I graduated from Penn State University with a B.S. in Civil Engineering. After working as a Highway Engineer for a consulting firm in Pittsburgh for five years, I had my first son and decided to stay home as a full-time mother. Thirteen years and three additional kids later, I decided to go back to engineering. I have been with ms consultants working part-time for almost four years. I appreciate the work/life balance ms allows. I enjoy attending my kids’ sporting events and activities, being involved in my church, volunteering at my kids’ schools and with TransportationYOU, running, vacationing at the beach, and spending time with family and friends.

The Speed Round

What was your first job?
Babysitting

 

Next item to cross off your bucket list?
Spending New Year’s Eve in Times Square

 

Best concert you’ve attended?
Rusted Root at Tussey Mountain

 

Planner or procrastinator?
Planner

 

What do you think the secret to a good life is?
Jesus

 

Listener or talker?
Both

 

If you could instantly become an expert in something, what would it be?
Parenting

 

Cook in or eat out?
We usually cook in but I enjoy eating out when we have the chance

 

Biggest pet peeve?
People not respecting my time

 

If you could live one day over again, which would you pick?
My wedding day

 

Farthest you’ve traveled from home?
Turks and Caicos

 

What is a hobby you always wanted to pick up, but never did?
Playing the violin

 

Sweet or salty?
Sweet

Tell Us More

What sets ms apart from other engineering & architecture firms?
ms is small enough to care for their employees and clients on a personal level.

 

What is the best career advice you have ever received?
Learn for learning’s sake.

 

What would you go back and tell your 22 year old self?
Enjoy every minute. Have fun while you are young. Save as much as you can.

 

You’ve got one day in Pittsburgh. What do you do?
Ride the incline, take the T into the city for lunch, take a walk or bike ride along the rivers, and attend a sporting event.

 

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
Free time? What’s that? I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, watching my kids’ sporting events and running.